User Tools

Site Tools


backing_up_backlight

Backing Up Backlight

Backing up your Backlight website is a piecemeal process, but not difficult.

It is entirely unnecessary to back up your albums or album sets. Your images, their metadata, and album settings including title, description, page copy, etc. all exist within your Lightroom catalog, in your Publish Services collections, and will be included in your catalog backup.

It is also unnecessary to back up the installed Backlight application from your website. The latest versions of Backlight and its add-ons are always available to be downloaded from The Turning Gate, either via your order email or via order retrieval.

You should back up these folders from your website:

  • backlight/custom
  • backlight/data

The /custom folder contains your personalizations, if any. The /data folder contains Backlight's settings, templates, etc.

If blogging on Wordpress, then back up your Wordpress database separate from Backlight.

If using Backlight's Wordpress Add-on, there is no need to back up your theme. Otherwise, do back up your Wordpress theme, or any child theme (whether based on Backlight's add-on or not).

Restoring from Backup

To restore a site from Backlight, you should:

  • Install a fresh copy of Backlight's latest version, and any add-ons.
  • Restore your backed up folders, backlight/custom and backlight/data.
  • Reconnect the Publisher plugin via API address and key.
  • In Lightroom, visit every Album Set from the top down, right clicking each, clicking Edit Album Set and then 'Edit'. The process of editing and saving re-creates the Album Sets on the server.
  • Do the same for all Albums within Album Sets or at the top-level of your Publisher instance.
  • Re-publish your photos.
backing_up_backlight.txt · Last modified: 2017/08/29 08:02 by ben